The Oscars, and S&S Awards.

27Feb12

So I never got around to making Oscar predictions this year. Partly because I lacked time, partly because I realised I care even less than you. Besides, I haven’t even rounded off the year by watching The Descendants, and given that was meant to be a decent contender for the top prizes, judgement felt unfair.

Anyway, they’re all done now, and no major surprises sprung up. Delighted to see Midnight win for Screenplay, and Dragon for Editing. Otherwise, I can’t say I’m feeling it.

The Artist was always going to sweep up, but I can’t shake the feeling that, a little like Slumdog, we’ll look back fairly soon and see this was a silly getting caught up in the moment choice. I don’t think the film will last. It’s just not that special, and given the other films out this year that will stand the tests of time, it’s quite a foolish victory.

The best way I can respond is to make my own ad hoc award list, so find that below. I’ve ignored the Awards I have no strong feelings about, and I’ve only nominated films or people that truly deserve it. There’s no set number chosen for each one.

I have found this tricky because, as you no doubt know, it’s come to the stage now where I idolise the films of Martin Scorsese and David Fincher all out of proportion. It’s the closest I’ve come to religion insofar as it tends nowadays towards blind faith. And I do think that Hugo and Dragon Tattoo are two of the best films out this year, even though neither represents either director at the top of his game. But I’m not really capable of judging either of these as if they were just any other film. I may have overcompensated for this by specially avoiding them, but I’ve done my best to deeply consider what I valued most this year. And, as you will see, I’m pretty sure the answer to that question is The Tree of Life.

Winners in bold, close runners-up in italics.

Best Cinematography

The Tree of Life.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

Hugo.

Drive.

Best Editing

The Tree of Life.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

Drive.

Best Original Score

The Skin I Live In.

The Tree of Life.

Best Soundtrack

Drive.

We Need To Talk About Kevin.

Best Screenplay

Moneyball.

The Ides of March.

Midnight in Paris.

Best Supporting Actor

Ryan Gosling – Crazy, Stupid, Love.

Best Supporting Actress

Jessica Chastain – The Tree of Life.

Best Leading Actor

Michael Fassbender – Shame.

Brad Pitt – Moneyball.

Ryan Gosling – The Ides of March.

Best Leading Actress

Michele Williams – My Week with Marilyn.

Rooney Mara – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

Tilda Swinton – We Need To Talk About Kevin.

Best Director

David Fincher – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

Martin Scorsese – Hugo.

Nicolas Winding Refn – Drive.

Terence Malick – The Tree of Life.

Best Picture

Hugo.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

Shame.

Midnight in Paris.

Drive.

The Tree of Life.

No Responses Yet to “The Oscars, and S&S Awards.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

